Research & Standards

The Research & Standards Committee exists to:

  • Identify objective, accurate and comparable approaches to working with data from multiple jurisdictions
  • Provide tools, information and research that helps jurisdictions identify best practices in the fields of occupational health, medicine, disability management, indemnity benefits and rehabilitation
  • Establish benchmarks that gauge progress towards the goals of effective workers' compensation systems
  • Periodically survey and compile information that allows meaningful comparison of workers' compensation systems so that jurisdictions are able to evaluate their own system performance in relation to other jurisdictions.


Chair: Mike Manley, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services
Vice Chair: Lisa Anne Forsythe, Aetna/Coventry Workers' Comp Services

Current Projects

The Research & Standards Committee is working on:

Claims Measures - Beta Survey. The Claims Measures - Beta Survey is collecting meaningful claims statistics to assist jurisdictions with internal benchmarking and provide another resource for understanding workers' compensation claims characteristics. Is your jurisdiction interested in completing the survey? Access the Claims Measures - Beta Survey, and also download the Survey Instructions to help you along. 

Committee Members

The Research & Standards Committee welcomes the following Committee members for the April 10, 2014 - October 2015 (term ends after Convention 2015) term:

Carol Cast, Kansas Division of Workers' Compensation
Raji Chadarevian, NCCI
David Elenbaas, Montana Employment Relations Division
Andrew Heath, North Carolina Industrial Commission
Abbie Hudgens, Tennessee Workers' Compensation Division
Francine Johnson, Aetna/Coventry Workers' Comp Services
Greg Krohm, WorkComp Strategies
Jamie Lancaster, NIOSH
Timothy Schmidle, New York State Workers' Compensation Board
Ann Schultz, Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board
Charles Steepleton, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission
Bob Wilson,
Brian Zaidman, Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry


April 14, 2015 Minutes - The Forum, Myrtle Beach, SC
April 2, 2015 Minutes (Data Collection Subcommittee) - Teleconference
September 30, 2014 Minutes - Centennial Convention, Austin, TX
September 18, 2014 Minutes (Data Collection Subcommittee) - Teleconference
July 8, 2014 Minutes (Data Collection Subcommittee) - Teleconference
June 4, 2014 Minutes (Data Collection Subcommittee) - Teleconference
April 9, 2014 Minutes - The Forum, Coeur d'Alene, ID
October 1, 2013 Minutes - 99th Annual Convention, San Diego, CA
April 30, 2013 Minutes - The Forum, Des Moines, IA


April 14, 2015 Agenda - The Forum, Myrtle Beach, SC
September 30, 2014 Agenda - Centennial Convention, Austin, TX


website security
Copyright © 2015 International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions

Gregg Lutz has joined the IAIABC as Director, Standards Development and Outreach. 


Ron Dressler, Director of the Utah Division of Industrial Accidents, has joined the IAIABC Board of Directors. 


The IAIABC is calling for candidates for its Board of Directors (formerly Executive Committee). 

Archived articles