IAIABC President's Award Recipients Recognized at 103rd Convention


President's Award Winners 

On October 4, IAIABC President, Dave Threedy, Executive Secretary of the Washington Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals, recognized six individuals and one organization for their service to the IAIABC and the workers’ compensation industry. Presented during a luncheon celebration at the IAIABC 103rd Convention, the President’s Awards honor those who demonstrate commitment and achievement in reducing harm and aid recovery from occupational injuries and illnesses.

The IAIABC President’s Awards are a special opportunity to recognize the contributions of industry professionals who advocate for improvement in occupational health and safety, strive for significant improvements in the law, and have shown substantial support to the IAIABC and its programs. “Sharing achievements and recognizing organizations and individuals doing good work is important,” noted Dave Threedy.

The 2017 President’s Award was given to the Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division, in recognition of Oregon’s programs to promote and assist injured workers in return to work. Oregon’s Employer-at-Injury Program (EAIP) and Preferred Worker Program (PWP) provide incentives to employers who re-employ injured workers. In the last twenty years, the Employer-at-Injury Program has helped more than 170,000 injured workers with both long term employment and wages higher than non-users. While both programs have been successful, Oregon continues to measure the impact and make changes to improve outcomes. It is a great honor to recognize Oregon for their achievements in this area.

The 2017 Samuel Gompers Award was presented to Mark Pew, Senior Vice President of PRIUM. Mark’s work is focused on managing the over-utilization of prescription drugs and educating stakeholders about the need to focus on the injured worker. Mark’s most recent work has been advocating for the workers’ compensation community to reduce the inappropriate use of opioids and strategies to help injured workers who have dependence and addiction. Mark has spearheaded the IAIABC’s efforts to develop a database of federal and state efforts to combat the opioid epidemic. Mark’s consistent mantra to #cleanupthemess is in the spirit of Samuel Gompers by recognizing the human cost of this epidemic.

The 2017 Frances Perkins Award was presented to Wesley G. Marshall, Chairman of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission. Chairman Marshall has positioned the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission as a leader and innovator – seeking to use objective technology and systems-based approaches to improve the system for injured workers and employers throughout the state. Under his leadership the Virginia Commission has integrated new technology into its operations, engages its constituents in a variety of social media, and was responsible for development and implementation of the Commonwealth’s first medical fee schedule.

The 2017 International Collaboration Award was presented to Peter Federko, Chief Executive Officer of Saskatchewan Workers’ Compensation Board, for excellence in promoting collaboration and understanding between international workers’ compensation and social security agencies. Peter has served in many different leadership capacities with the IAIABC but throughout his engagement has stressed the importance of engaging jurisdictions beyond the United States. His leadership in this area has opened many doors and opportunities for the IAIABC.

The 2017 Award of Merit was presented to Vickie Kennedy, Assistant Director for Insurance Services at the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. Since attending her first IAIABC meeting in 2014 – Vickie quickly jumped into Association activities. She was a contributor to the Disability Management and Return to Work Committee Paper: Return to Work: A Foundational Approach to Return to Function. In her role as Vice Chair, Vickie has helped promote the paper and the system wide benefits of early return to work.

The 2017 Associate Member Award of Merit was presented to Matt Bryant, Principal Owner of WorkComp Strategies. Matt has served the IAIABC in several leadership capacities including his current role as Chair of the Associate Member Council and a member of the Executive Committee. Matt’s engagement has helped promote associate member engagement and dialogue with the regulatory community. In addition, Matt was integral in developing the IAIABC’s Innovation Awards which recognizes jurisdictional initiatives and new initiatives to improve workers’ compensation.

The 2017 Outstanding Achievement in EDI

was presented to Lori Raby, Systems Specialist at the Michigan Workers’ Compensation Agency. As Vice Chair of the EDI Systems Committee, Lori has demonstrated dedication toward the creation of the Claims Release 3.1 standard. She developed a process improvement for the maintenance and presentation of business case scenarios to prevent errors, organize content, and ease navigation while reducing overhead. In addition she established all of the Claims Release 3.1 Trading Partner Tables and technical references. Lori continues to be an invaluable resource to the IAIABC EDI community.

About the IAIABC
The IAIABC is an association of government agencies that administer and regulate their jurisdiction’s workers' compensation acts. Along with these government entities, various private organizations involved in the delivery of workers' compensation coverage and benefits participate in the IAIABC. Since its inception in 1914 the IAIABC has worked to improve and clarify laws, identify model laws and procedures, develop and implement standards, and provide education and information sharing. The IAIABC strives to gather the best resources available to solve the practical administrative and operational problems of its members.


Contact: Heather Lore, Senior Manager, Membership and Communications, IAIABC
Phone: +1 (608) 841-2017
Email: hlore@iaiabc.org