EDI Licensing 

In 2011, the IAIABC implemented a licensing program to protect the IAIABC’s copyrighted standards, provide ongoing and sustainable support for the program, spread the costs more equitably among users of the standards, and encourage IAIABC EDI membership.

Upon payment of annual licensing fees, the licensee enters into the following agreement with the IAIABC:

EDI Member and Data Reporter License

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is subject to EDI license fees?

A licensee is a non-member organization that uses an IAIABC EDI standard to send workers' compensation data to a jurisdictional regulatory agency. This will typically include organizations that are listed on a jurisdictional trading partner list that fall into any of the following categories: insurer, vendor, self-insured employer, service provider, and third party administrator. 

What EDI standards are being licensed?

The IAIABC is licensing First and Subsequent Reports of Injury (Releases 1 and 3); Proof of Coverage; and Medical Bill Payment Reporting EDI standards.

Do IAIABC EDI members have to pay license fees?

No, EDI members do not have to pay EDI licensee fees. License fees will be included in the cost of membership. However, IAIABC Associate members will be subject to license fees.

How are the license fees determined?

License fees are determined on a per-jurisdiction, per standard basis. For each jurisdiction a licensee reports to, there is an annual $250 licensee fee for each standard the licensee uses.

When will the IAIABC send invoices/bills for license fees?

Invoices for licenses will be sent in May each year. Licenses will be in effect for July 1 through June 30.

If my company elects to become an EDI member, what benefits would my company receive?

Learn more about the many benefits of membership.