The IAIABC NextGen Initiative seeks to recognize new talent and leadership in workers’ compensation as the industry, like many others, moves to adapt and thrive in a changing world. 

The IAIABC NextGen Initiative began in 2017 as a way to recognize the contributions of individuals under the age of 40 working in the workers’ compensation industry. Of a number of nominees, eleven individuals received the NextGen award in 2017, highlighting their perspectives on the industry and its future, and raising the visibility of the talent emerging in the industry. 

Industry professionals are encouraged to nominate their peers or colleagues for a IAIABC NextGen. A selection committee will select recipients from the nominees to become recipients of the 2018 NextGen Award.  

Nominate an Individual 

Download the 2018 NextGen Info Sheet

Timeline for 2018

  • Nominations open on March 5 and close on May 23, 2018.
  • Recipients will be notified the week of June 25, 2018.
  • Recipients will be invited to attend the IAIABC 104th Convention, October 1-4, in Williamsburg, Virginia.
Next Generation Workers








Individuals are nominated by their peers or colleagues in the workers’ compensation industry. Nominators should provide as much detailed information as possible regarding the nominee’s accomplishments, projects, and contributions to their organization and/or the workers’ compensation industry. This is necessary for the selection committee to make an informed decision.  

  • Nominations must be made by someone other than the nominee (cannot self-nominate).
  • Nominators and nominees do not need to work for the same organization.

Nominate an individual


Nominees will fall into one of two categories: 

  • Jurisdiction: nominee works for a governmental organization (state, province, country) that regulates and/or administers their jurisdiction’s workers’ compensation laws.
  • Industry: nominee works for a non-governmental organization that does business in the workers’ compensation industry.

Next Generation Workers 






Selection Criteria

Those nominating an individual for a NextGen award are asked to provide as much detailed information as possible, including specific examples of the nominee's accomplishments, contributions, and projects. IAIABC NextGen nominees will be selected based on the following criteria: 

  • Recipient is making a substantial and positive impact on their organization and/or the workers’ compensation industry through their work.
  • Recipient has been highly engaged in workers’ compensation policy, innovation, project or program development, and/or administration.
  • Employed in the workers’ compensation industry (organization does not have to be a member of the IAIABC).
  • Age 39 or under as of December 31, 2018. 


  • Invited to the IAIABC’s 104th Convention, October 1-4, in Williamsburg, Virginia. Registration fee will be waived, and recipients will be asked to participate in a special session and networking reception at the Convention.
  • Featured in a special edition of Perspectives, the IAIABC digital magazine.
  • Featured on the IAIABC website on the NextGen webpage.

Nominate an Individual