NextGen Awards


IAIABC NextGen Awards launched in 2017 as a way to recognize talented individuals under the age of 40 who are having a substantial and positive impact on workers' compensation, making a significant difference within their organizations, and leading the industry into the future.

2023 NextGen Award Recipients

The IAIABC congratulates the recipients of the 2023 NextGen Awards. 

Harsh Bhasin

Modernization Program Director, Missouri Department of Labor & Industrial Relations - Division of Workers' Compensation (formerly)

Claudia Byers

Compliance Director, Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation

Joel Cummings

Supervisor, Coverage Enforcement, Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation

Jessica Jones

Business Process & Support Section Manager, Montana Department of Labor and Industry, ESD

Katie Leveen

Executive Director of Data Sciences, NCCI

Stephan Marsh

Shareholder, Burg Simpson Eldredge Harsh & Jardine PC

Elizabeth Patrick

EDI Senior Analyst, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission

Ann-Kathrin Schäfer

Head of International Social Law and European Law Section, German Social Accident Insurance (DGUV)

Amanda Waltemath

Director, Clinical Services, Healthesystems

The Award recipients will be celebrated at the IAIABC 109th Convention and in a 2023 issue of IAIABC Perspectives magazine.

2023 Finalists

The following individuals were Finalist NextGen Award nominees: 

Annabel Cobane, Board Member, VRC, IARP WA and Advanced Vocational Solutions

Tyler GreenPolicy Advisor, Department of Labor Office of Workers' Compensation Programs

Chris GutierrezCEO, Stryke National Investigations

Stacey HendricksonDirector, Client Success, Enlyte

Brock PerkesDirector, Client Success, Enlyte

Amanda QuailSenior Campaign Manager, Enlyte

2023 Honorable Mentions

The following individuals were Honorable Mention NextGen Award nominees:

Kalee BakerAccounts Supervisor, Missouri Division of Workers' Compensation

Ken Booser, Sales and Support Associate, daisyBill

Sunil Chowdam, Project Administrator, Deloitte

Anna Coleman, IT Customer Support Manager, Washington State Department of Labor and Industries

Madeleine DempseyLead Personal Clinician, Harvard MedTech

Ashkan Dorodyan, Director of Customer Relations, UR Specialist, Enlyte

Kevin Fong, Operations Associate, dasiyBill

Ally Goldfarb, UI/UX Designer, daisyBill

Alexis Hildebrand, Admin Office Manager, Alaska Division of Workers' Compensation

Mary Hunt, Data Analyst III, Corvel Corporation

Blair Ilsley, Educational Content Coordinator, Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation

Dan Lovhaug, VP - IT and Security Officer, WCRA

Britt Martin, Customer Success Specialist, dasiyBill

Aaron McGraw, Senior Director of Data Analytics, Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation

Priscilla Padilla, Uninsured Employers' Fund Administrator, New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration

Melena Slavens, Quality Audit Reviewer/Senior Program Auditor, Salus

Carissa Stahly, Mediator, Montana Department of Labor

Selection Committee Members

A committee of eleven industry professionals selected the IAIABC NextGen Award recipients from among the nominations. It is important to note that any selection committee member who works for the same organization as a nominee did not provide input on that nominee, and that selections were based solely on information received on the nomination form.

Stephanie Arkelian, Healthesystems (2018 NextGen Recipient)
Erin Bishop, Virgina Workers' Compensation Commission (2020 NextGen Recipient)
Shayne Garner, Ebix
Ceil Jung, SFM
Heather Lore, IAIABC
Neil McSheim, WSIB
Megan Nelson, Gallagher Bassett (2020 NextGen Recipient)
Jennifer Norleen-Beitel, Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board (2018 NextGen Recipient)
Steven Peters, Wisconsin Worker's Compensation Division
Mark Pew, The RxProfessor LLC
Jordan Russell, Oklahoma Workers' Compensation Commission

Previous Recipients

Previous Recipients (2017-2022)