Awards Programs 

Every year, the IAIABC confers awards upon committed, dedicated, and unique individuals and organizations who are making positive contributions to workers' compensation and working to fulfill the mission of the IAIABC. 

NextGen Awards

IAIABC NextGen launched in 2017 as a way to recognize talented young professionals who are having a positive impact on workers' compensation, making a difference within their organizations and leading the industry into the future. As the workers' compensation industry ages and workplaces change through technology and globalization, there is no better time to support the development of the leaders of today and tomorrow.

IAIABC NextGen has recognized 26 individuals for their contributions to the industry, and in 2020, the IAIABC looks forward to seeing new leaders emerge.

Nominate an Individual
Download the Information Sheet
View a Sample Nomination


Individuals are nominated by their peers or colleagues in the workers’ compensation industry. Nominators should provide as much detailed information as possible regarding the nominee’s accomplishments, projects, and contributions to their organization and/or the workers’ compensation industry. This is necessary for the selection committee to make an informed decision.

  • Nominations must be made by someone other than the nominee (cannot self-nominate).
  • Nominators and nominees do not need to work for the same organization.
  • Nominees do not need to work for an IAIABC member organization.

Selection Criteria

IAIABC NextGen recipients will be selected based on the following criteria:

  • Recipient is making a substantial and positive impact on their organization and/or the workers’ compensation industry through their work. Nominators are asked to provide both objective and subjective measures and rationale for their nomination.
  • Recipient has been highly engaged in workers’ compensation policy, innovation, project or program development, and/or administration. Nominators are asked to provide specific examples/descriptions of their project work, programs supported and/or implemented, etc.
  • Employed in the workers’ compensation industry.
  • Age 39 or under as of December 31, 2020.
  • Has not already been an IAIABC NextGen recipient.


To make comparisons between jurisdictional and industry nominees more balanced and equitable, nominees will fall into one of two categories:

  • Jurisdiction: nominee works for a governmental organization (state, province, country) that regulates and/or administers their jurisdiction’s workers’ compensation laws.
  • Private Sector Industry: nominee works for a non-governmental organization that does business in the workers’ compensation industry.


  • Invited to the IAIABC’s 106th Convention, September 21-24, 2020 in Denver, Colorado. Registration fee will be waived, and recipients will be asked to participate in a special session and networking event at the Convention.
  • Featured in a special edition of Perspectives, the IAIABC digital magazine.
  • Featured on the IAIABC website on the home page and NextGen webpage.
  • Featured in at least two press releases on IAIABC NextGen. 


  • Nominations open on March 9, 2020 and close at the end of summer.
  • Notifications will be sent after nominations close.
Nominate an Individual
Download the Information Sheet
View a Sample Nomination

2019 Recipients

NextGen 2019

Stephanie Arkelian Product Manager, Healthesystems
Magnum Dampier Director of Information Systems, CompAlliance
Ryan Duke EDI QA Assistant Manager, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission
Brad Morse Program Manager, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
Claire Muselman Director of Workers' Compensation, Continental Western Group, a Berkley Company
Caitlin Smith Business Systems Analyst I, New York State Workers' Compensation Board
Marques Torbert CEO, Ametros
Derek West Director of Business Transformation, Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation

Previous Recipients (2018, 2017) 

Excellence Award

The IAIABC Excellence Award recognizes jurisdictions for the development of successful solutions to reduce harm and aid recovery from occupational injuries and illnesses. These solutions address policy and program challenges jurisdictions face while regulating and administering workers' compensation. Solutions could include specific programs, policies, initiatives, or projects that seek to improve worker and employer outcomes or ease administrative burdens. 

Applications for the 2020 IAIABC Excellence Award will open in April 2020. The IAIABC thanks WorkComp Strategies for sponsoring the Excellence Award.

2019 Recipient

Excellence Award

The IAIABC recognized the New York State Workers' Compensation Board with the 2019 IAIABC Excellence Award for their virtual hearings center.

New York's Virtual Hearing Center eases the burden of travel for injured workers, and gives workers, employers, and attorneys the option of appearing at hearings remotely in a secure, reliable, and convenient manner. Each year, the New York State Workers' Compensation Board conducts approximately 275,000 workers' compensation hearings statewide, with many hearings lasting less than 10 minutes long. Through extensive stakeholder training and buy-in as well as significant investments in administrative changes and technology, the Board has conducted over 209,000 virtual hearings since 2017, at a 45% virtual participation rate.

Previous Recipients (2018, 2017, 2016)

President's Awards

The annual President’s Awards honor those who demonstrate commitment and achievement in reducing harm and aiding recovery from occupational injuries and illnesses.

2019 Recipients

President's Award

Judge David Torrey

Judge David Torrey Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry 

In recognition of your dedicated scholarship of workers’ compensation law. Through your work, professionals around the world deepen their knowledge and understanding of workers’ compensation systems.

Frances Perkins Award

Andrew SabolicAndrew Sabolic Assistant Director, Florida Division of Workers' Compensation

For following in the footsteps of Frances Perkins, U.S. Secretary of Labor and IAIABC President, who was a role model for innovation and progressive leadership in workers' compensation and social security.

Samuel Gompers Award

The Black Car FundThe Black Car Fund

In recognition of your outstanding efforts “In improving the working conditions of the masses.”  ~ Samuel Gompers, 1916

Award of Merit

Deborah BlevinsDeborah Blevins Deputy Commissioner, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission

For outstanding contribution of leadership, commitment, and professional talent in furthering the goals of the IAIABC.

Associate Member Award of Merit

Tom GlassonTom Glasson Government Affairs Officer, AIG

For outstanding contribution of leadership, commitment, and professional talent in furthering the goals of the IAIABC.

Outstanding Achievement in EDI

Jeff WillardJeff Willard Lead Business Intelligence Engineer, York Risk Services

For outstanding contribution and commitment to the development of IAIABC Electronic Data Interchange standards for workers’ compensation reporting.