Workers’ Compensation Leaders Recognized with 2021 IAIABC President’s Awards


Ron Dressler, Director of the Utah Labor Commission Division of Industrial Accidents and then-IAIABC President, recognized eight individuals for their service to the IAIABC and the workers’ compensation industry at the IAIABC 107th Convention on October 27, 2021.

Conferred annually, the President’s Awards honor those who demonstrate commitment to reducing harm and aiding recovery from occupational injuries and illnesses. The IAIABC proudly celebrates these individuals and their achievements.

The 2021 President’s Award was given to Dr. Gregor Kemper, Director of International Relations, German Social Accident Insurance (DGUV). In his role at DGUV, Gregor works to promote the benefits of social protections, prominently occupational accident insurance, to government leaders around the world. He works with organizations like the International Social Security Association, the European Forum, and the IAIABC to identify practices that strengthen and improve systems to the benefit of workers and employers.

The 2021 Frances Perkins Award was given to Vickie Kennedy, Assistant Director of Insurance Services, Washington State Department of Labor & Industries. Vickie has worked in numerous roles at the Washington Department, including as the Director’s chief policy advisor, insurance services, and pensions program. In her current role, she is passionate about improving outcomes for those workers who have experienced an injury or illness at work. She brings this work to the IAIABC, chairing the Work Disability Prevention and Return to Work Committee and serving on the Board of Directors.

The 2021 Samuel Gompers Award was presented to Emily Spieler, Hadley Professor of Law at Northeastern University, School of Law. Professor Spieler is a leading expert in labor and employment law and her scholarship has focused on the adequacy of benefits and protections within workers’ compensation systems. She previously served in several senior positions in West Virginia state government. Professor Spieler is also active in current efforts to address the effects of COVID-10 on vulnerable workers.

The 2021 IAIABC Award of Merit was presented to Brian Holmes, Director of Mediation and Ombudsman Services, Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. Under Brian’s leadership, the Tennessee Bureau has continued to advance access to mediation and alternative dispute resolution to all workers’ compensation stakeholders. In the last year, Brian has worked with members of the Dispute Resolution Committee to develop and host an educational program for workers’ compensation mediators.

The 2021 International Collaboration Award was presented to Terrance D’souza, Executive Director, Advanced Analytics at Workplace Safety and Insurance Board. At the WSIB, Terrance demonstrates the use of analytics and data science to improve outcomes in the workers’ compensation system. As Vice Chair of the IAIABC International Committee, Terrance has bridged relationships between his colleagues in Canada and around the world, helping members feel more connected and engaged. He has welcomed new voices and shared insights which has opened the IAIABC membership up to new ideas and perspectives.

The 2021 Outstanding Achievement in EDI was presented to Harte Pricer, Manager of EDI at the Pennsylvania Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. Harte currently serves as the Vice Chair of the EDI Council and has helped define the strategic direction of the standards to further advance the mission of the EDI Program. Harte also serves on the Claims Implementation Team and has supported jurisdictions with their adoption and or transition to Claims Release 3.1. As a member of the Claims Steering Committee, Harte has also contributed to the advancement of the Claims Standard by creating a future vision of the standard to streamline and simplify future reporting.

The 2021 Associate Member Award of Merit was presented to Jeremy King, Staff Business Systems Analyst at Riskonnect. Jeremy designs regulatory compliance software programs. Within the IAIABC, he has served as the Chair of the EDI Systems committee and serves on the Associate Member Council. His leadership has helped advance the IAIABC’s EDI Standards so they improve regulatory reporting across the United States.

The 2021 Past President Award was presented to Evelyn McGill, Executive Director of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission. Evelyn traveled a long way for the IAIABC, representing the Association in Kuala Lumpur in February 2020. She then had to lead the Association through one of the most challenging and unique times in our history. Evelyn helped the IAIABC through one of the most challenging and unique times in our history as the Covid-19 pandemic took hold around the world. Under her leadership, the IAIABC continued to provide valuable resources and information to its members and the workers’ compensation community during that difficult time.

About the IAIABC

The IAIABC is an association of government agencies that administer and regulate their jurisdiction’s workers' compensation acts. Along with these government entities, various private organizations involved in the delivery of workers' compensation coverage and benefits participate in the IAIABC. Since its inception in 1914 the IAIABC has worked to improve and clarify laws, identify model laws and procedures, develop and implement standards, and provide education and information sharing. The IAIABC strives to gather the best resources available to solve the practical administrative and operational problems of its members. Learn more at



Contact: Heather Lore, Communications and Engagement Director, IAIABC

Phone: +1 (608) 841-2017