Nine Workers' Compensation Leaders Recognized with IAIABC NextGen Awards



The IAIABC NextGen Awards recognize talented and transformative young professionals under the age of 40 who are having a positive impact in their organizations and the workers’ compensation industry. For the 2023 IAIABC NextGen Awards, nine recipients were selected from a pool of outstanding nominees.

"I am very impressed with the accomplished class of 2023 IAIABC NextGen Award recipients. Each of them has put their own stamp on workers’ compensation, sharing their passion, dedication, and innovative ideas with different sectors of the industry. I look forward to seeing where these leaders take the industry into the future,” says Heather Lore, IAIABC Executive Director.


The IAIABC congratulates the recipients of the 2023 IAIABC NextGen Awards:

Harsh Bhasin

Modernization Program Director, Missouri Department of Labor & Industrial Relations - Division of Workers' Compensation (formerly)

Claudia Byers

Compliance Director, Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation

Joel Cummings

Supervisor, Coverage Enforcement, Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation

Jessica Jones

Business Process & Support Section Manager, Montana Department of Labor and Industry, ESD

Katie Leveen

Executive Director of Data Sciences, NCCI

Stephan Marsh

Shareholder, Burg Simpson Eldredge Harsh & Jardine PC

Elizabeth Patrick

EDI Senior Analyst, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission

Ann-Kathrin Schäfer

Head of International Social Law and European Law Section, German Social Accident Insurance (DGUV)

Amanda Waltemath

Director, Clinical Services, Healthesystems

In addition to the NextGen winners, the IAIABC is also proud to recognize 6 finalists and 17 honorable mentions whose work is helping to progress and elevate the workers’ compensation industry. View the list of finalists and honorable mention nominees here.

The IAIABC will share the NextGen Award recipients’ stories throughout the year, including as part of the IAIABC 109th Convention September 11-14, 2023, in Denver, Colorado. NextGen Award recipients will also be profiled in a special edition issue of Perspectives, the IAIABC’s digital publication.

Over the seven years of the IAIABC NextGen Awards, 54 individuals have been recognized with a NextGen Award. Visit for more information about this year’s and past NextGen recipients.

About the IAIABC

The International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions is a not-for-profit association representing government agencies charged with the administration of workers’ compensation systems as well as other workers’ compensation professionals in the private sector. Its mission is to find solutions to reduce harm and aid recovery from occupational injuries and illnesses. Learn more about the IAIABC at


Contact: Cameron Nudleman, IAIABC Membership & Communications Manager

Phone: (608) 410-2216