Awards Programs

Every year, the IAIABC confers awards upon committed, dedicated, and unique individuals and organizations who are making positive contributions to workers' compensation and working to fulfill the mission of the IAIABC. 

NextGen Awards

IAIABC NextGen launched in 2017 as a way to recognize talented young professionals who are having a positive impact on workers' compensation, making significant difference withins their organizations, and leading the industry into the future. As the workers' compensation industry ages and workplaces change through technology and globalization, there is no better time to support the development of the leaders of today and tomorrow.

In its 4 year history, 32 individuals have received IAIABC NextGen Awards.

2020 Recipients

Congratulations to recipients of the 2020 IAIABC NextGen Awards! During what has been an undeniably challenging year, these professionals rose above and had meaningful impact on their organizations and the workers' compensation industry.

Erin Bishop 

Alternative Dispute Resolution Supervisor, Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission

James “Jay” Hicks 

Ombudsman Attorney, Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation

Amy Kingston

Manager of Claims and Insurance Programs, Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation

Jed Magid 

Compliance Manager, Gallagher Bassett

Megan Nelson 

Senior Associate, Analytics, Gallagher Bassett

Grace Ray 

Director of Risk Management, Bardavon

Previous Recipients (2019, 2018, 2017) 

President's Awards

The annual President’s Awards honor those who demonstrate commitment and achievement in reducing harm and aiding recovery from occupational injuries and illnesses.

2020 Recipients

President's Award

Rafael GonzalezRafael Gonzalez, Partner, Cattie & Gonzalez

In recognition of your dedicated scholarship of workers’ compensation law. Through your work, professionals around the world deepen their knowledge and understanding of workers’ compensation systems.

Frances Perkins Award

Dr. AzmanDato' Sri Dr.  Mohammad Azman Aziz Mohammed, Chief Executive, Social Security Organization of Malaysia

For following in the footsteps of Frances Perkins, U.S. Secretary of Labor and IAIABC President, who was a role model for innovation and progressive leadership in workers' compensation and social security.

International Collaboration Award

Phil Germain, CEO, Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation BoardPhil Germain

In recognition of your outstanding efforts “In improving the working conditions of the masses.”  ~ Samuel Gompers, 1916

Samuel Gompers Award

John HowardJohn Howard, Director, NIOSH

In recognition of your outstanding efforts “In improving the working conditions of the masses.”  ~ Samuel Gompers, 1916

Award of Merit

Raji ChadarevianRaji Chadarevian, Director of Medical Regulation and Informatics, NCCI

For outstanding contribution of leadership, commitment, and professional talent in furthering the goals of the IAIABC.

Associate Member Award of Merit

Lisa Anne BickfordLisa Anne Bickford, Government Relations Director, Coventry

For outstanding contribution of leadership, commitment, and professional talent in furthering the goals of the IAIABC.

Outstanding Achievement in EDI

Monica BlackwellMonica Blackwell, Senior Professional Services Consultant, Mitchell International

For outstanding contribution and commitment to the development of IAIABC Electronic Data Interchange standards for workers’ compensation reporting.

Previous Recipients (2019)

Excellence Award

The IAIABC Excellence Award recognizes jurisdictions for the development of successful solutions to reduce harm and aid recovery from occupational injuries and illnesses. These solutions address policy and program challenges jurisdictions face while regulating and administering workers' compensation. Solutions could include specific programs, policies, initiatives, or projects that seek to improve worker and employer outcomes or ease administrative burdens. 

Applications for the 2020 IAIABC Excellence Award will open in April 2020. The IAIABC thanks WorkComp Strategies for sponsoring the Excellence Award.

2019 Recipient

Excellence Award

The IAIABC recognized the New York State Workers' Compensation Board with the 2019 IAIABC Excellence Award for their virtual hearings center.

New York's Virtual Hearing Center eases the burden of travel for injured workers, and gives workers, employers, and attorneys the option of appearing at hearings remotely in a secure, reliable, and convenient manner. Each year, the New York State Workers' Compensation Board conducts approximately 275,000 workers' compensation hearings statewide, with many hearings lasting less than 10 minutes long. Through extensive stakeholder training and buy-in as well as significant investments in administrative changes and technology, the Board has conducted over 209,000 virtual hearings since 2017, at a 45% virtual participation rate.

Previous Recipients (2018, 2017, 2016)